MARYLAND RAPE AND SEXUAL ASSAULT LAWS

Rape, sexual offenses, and sexual assaults have been criminalized as per the laws of Maryland. According to the Maryland Rape and Sexual Assault Laws, rape is categorized into two levels of offenses or degrees. In contrast, sexual offenses have four degrees of any type of offensive sexual activity. Depending on the factors, the criminal penalties are adverse in Maryland. These are also based on aggravating factors that are sometimes done using violence. It is also reported that other factors include, the age and gender of the victim and by displaying weapons to a victim.

There are various forms of sexual offenses that are prohibited according to Maryland Rape and Sexual Assault Laws. These include:

The various forms of sexual assault that are prohibited in Maryland include:

  • Rape
    • First Degree: This degree involves an individual being engaged in a sexual intercourse with another individual without their explicit consent. This could be done using physical violence, displaying weapons, death threats, kidnapping, and more.
    • Second Degree: If an individual engages in vaginal intercourse:
      • Without the consent of the victim
      • With physically or mentally ill person
      • Victim is 14 years old or below or four years younger than defendant
  • Sexual Offense
    • First Degree: This involves individual being engaged in a sexual act including, anal or oral sex. In addition to this, if any part or object of a person’s body is penetrated, comes under this type. This could be done using physical violence, displaying weapons, death threats, kidnapping, and more.
    • Second Degree: If an individual is engaged in sexual activity with another person by:
      • Without the consent or with force
      • With physically or mentally ill person
      • Victim is 14 years old or below or four years younger than defendant
    • Third Degree: This degree includes the following:
      • An individual engaged in sexual contact with other. The contact may be intentional touching of genitals, private parts, and anal of either defendant or victim for abuse of either person or sexual gratification. This could be done in following scenarios:
        • Without consent or by force using weapon or injuring the victim, death threats to victim, kidnapping, or with someone’s help
        • With physically or mentally ill person
        • Victim is 14 years old or below or four years younger than defendant
        • Being engaged in a sexual act including anal, oral, or vaginal intercourse when a defendant is 21 years old or older while the victim is 15 years old or below. This is also known as statutory rape.
    • Fourth Degree: It includes the following:
      • Without the consent of other
      • Victim is 14 years old or below or four years younger than defendant

Engaged in a sexual act, contact, or intercourse with a person who is not only under 18 but is enrolled in a school where the person was in a position of authority. This could be teacher, principal, counselor, a coach who is at least 21 years old.